The Daily : A Brand New You

Daily Prompt: Tomorrow is the first day of a brand new year. Tomorrow you get to become anyone in the world that you wish. Who are you? You can choose to by anyone, alive today or someone gone long ago. If you decide to stay “you” share your rationale.

My Running ShoesWhen I was a kid, I would have answered this question with gusto and with the reply of whatever superhero or villain I was intrigued with at the time. Now, I can’t stand this way of thinking. Why would I choose to be someone else? When I am, in all honesty, content with being myself.

I’m an amazing cook, a decent baker, and can’t carry a tune to save my life. I take pretty pictures and write well enough to amuse myself and sometimes, others. I’m fascinating, intelligent, loyal, beautiful and inspiring. I’m overworked, overweight, underread, and working to reverse these things. I’m a work in progress. And I like my progress so far.

I wish more people would look into themselves and say, “Y’know, I’m pretty cool as myself, too,” rather than wish they were in someone else’s shoes. Why?

Someone else’s shoes can be entirely uncomfortable.

I'd rather walk in my own shoes.
I’d rather walk in my own shoes.
9 thoughts on “The Daily : A Brand New You

Leave a Reply

